Officers and Directors


Winthrop H. 'Win' Smith, Jr., Chair

Win Smith is the chairman of WHS Holdings, LLC, a private firm that actively invests in businesses, one of which is Summit Ventures, the owner of Sugarbush Resort.

In addition to his role as Chair of Vermont Business Roundtable's Board, Mr. Smith serves as a Director of AGF Management, Ltd., Eaton Vance Corporation, Richardson Financial Group, Richardson GMP, Ltd, and Winthrop H. Smith, Jr. Family Foundation.



Mary G. Powell, Immediate Past Chair

Mary Powell joined Green Mountain Power in 1998 after experience as a business owner and in business management at the executive level in both the public and private sector. Prior to Green Mountain Power Corporation, Ms. Powell served as President of HRworks, Inc., from 1997 to 1998. Ms. Powell served as Senior Vice President of Community Banking for KeyBank in Vermont. Ms. Powell worked for The Reserve Fund in New York City as the Associate Director of Operations. She also worked in the Human Resources Department for the State of Vermont. In February 2004, Ms. Powell was recognized by Fast Company magazine as one of the top fifty business leaders in the United States for the work she led reinventing a traditional utility company.


Robert E. 'Rob' Simpson, Vice Chair

Dr. Rob Simpson was named President and Chief Executive Officer of the Brattleboro Retreat in 2006. He joined the Retreat with more than 30 years of commitment to the treatment of individuals experiencing mental health and addiction issues, as well as extensive experience in the management of mental health and substance abuse programs. He is a graduate of Amherst College, Simmons College (MSW), Harvard University (MPH) and the University of Utah where he earned a doctorate in Social Work.

Prior to joining the Retreat Dr. Simpson served as CEO of Arbour Hospital, a member of the Universal Health Services, Inc., in Boston. In earlier executive management positions he has served as Chief Operating Officer of Behavioral Healthcare and Sr. Vice President of Government Relations at the Sisters of Providence Health System, and Vice President of Behavioral Health and Cancer Services at Baystate Health System in Springfield, MA.


Jo Bradley, Secretary

Jo Bradley became Chief Executive Officer of the Vermont Economic Development Authority in February, 1997. Her previous professional experience includes the positions of Deputy Secretary at the Vermong Agency of Commerce and Community Development, Commcercial Loan Officer at the Vermont Economic Development Authority, and Vice President at Solomon Brothers, Inc. in Boston. Bradley graduated with Honors from Johnson State College, received an MBA from Boston University and completed the Harvard Program for Senior Executives. In addition to serving on the Vermont Business Roundtable's Board of Directors, Jo serves on the Boards of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Vermont and the Clean Energy Development Fund.


Renee Bourget-Place, Treasurer

Renee Bourget Place is the Office Managing Partner of KPMG LLP's Burlington, Vermont office. In addition to serving on the Vermont Business Roundtable's Board of Directors, Renee also serves on the Board of Directors for the Greater Burlington YMCA. Renee has also offered financial advice and auditing services to higher education organizations, such as the University of Vermont and Dartmouth College.




Leon J. Berthiaume
General Manager
St. Albans Cooperative Creamery, Inc.

Renee Bourget-Place
Managing Partner

Jill Berry Bowen
Northwestern Medical Center, Inc.

Jo Bradley
Chief Executive Officer
Vermont Economic Development Authority

Mary Burns
President and CEO
Greater Burlington YMCA

Thomas A. 'Tom' Dee
President and CEO
Southwestern Vermont Health Care

Mark K. Foley, Jr.
Owner and President
Foley Services, Inc. / MKF Properties

Walter B. Frame, III
Executive Vice President
Trapp Family Lodge

Don C. George
President and CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Vermont

Geoff Glaspie
Plant Manager
Husky Injection Molding

Tommy A. Harmon, Jr.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Sonnax Industries, Inc.

Pierre LeBlanc
Engelberth Construction, Inc.

Leslee A. MacKenzie
Owner and President
Coldwell Banker Hickok & Boardman Realty

Paul Millman
Chroma Technology Corporation

Brian R. Murphy
Managing Partner
Dinse Knapp & McAndrew PC

Judith W. 'Judy' O'Connell
Managing Partner
Champlain Investment Partners

Mary G. Powell
President and Chief Executive Officer
Green Mountain Power Corporation

Michael L. Seaver
Vermont President
People's United Bank

William Shouldice, IV
President and CEO
Vermont Teddy Bear Co.

Robert E. Simpson
President and CEO
Brattleboro Retreat

Winthrop H. 'Win' Smith, Jr.
Sugarbush Resort

Michael R. 'Mike' Tuttle
President, CEO and Director
Merchants Bancshares, Inc.

Michael T. 'Mike' Walsh
President and CEO
Hackett Valine & MacDonald, Inc.

John Wilking
Neville Companies Inc.