Economic Development Task Force

Chair:  Mark K. Foley, Jr., Owner and President, Foley Services, Inc. / MKF Properties

Vermont’s ability to protect the environment, provide for the economically less fortunate, and provide opportunity for the current and future generations is entirely dependent on the viability and capacity of the businesses that generate tax revenues, directly through their business activities, and, indirectly, through the employment of the state’s individual taxpayers. Taxpayers, in turn, provide the necessary financial resources to fund public programs.

The goal of the Roundtable is to provide independent and balanced analyses of the state’s fiscal condition so that lawmakers may have the opportunity to weigh policy alternatives with input from objective stakeholders.  By providing a decision-making framework, the Roundtable hopes to inform the public not just on the means by which to raise revenues, but the implications of those policy changes.


Scott Boardman, President, Hickok & Boardman, Inc.

David Bradbury, President, Vermont Center for Emerging Technologies

Jo Bradley, CEO, Vermont Economic Development Authority

Rich Bundy, President & CEO, UVM Foundation

Ralph Carlton, Chief Financial Officer, King Arthur Flour Co.

Michael Casella, General Manager, Casella Waste Systems, Inc.

Frank Cioffi, President, Cynosure, Inc.

Staige Davis, CEO, Four Seasons Sotheby’s International Realty

Walter Frame, III, Executive Vice President, Trapp Family Lodge

Richard Galbraith, Vice President for Research, University of Vermont

Dimitri Garder, Executive Vice President, Global-Z International, Inc.

Geoff Glaspie, Plant Manager, Husky Injection Molding, Inc.

Pamela Mackenzie, Government Relations Manager, Comcast

Andrew Martin, Vice President, Neagley & Chase Construction

Kevin McCarthy, President & CEO, PC Construction Company

Paul Millman, President, Chroma Technology Corp.

Michael Seaver, President, Vermont, People’s United Bank

Bill Shouldice, IV, President and CEO, Vermont Teddy Bear Company

Dan Smith, President, Vermont Technical College

Win Smith, President (ex-officio), Sugarbush Resort

2016 Economic Development Policy Brief