Roundtable Issues Joint Statement Supporting Diversity, Equity, and Inclusiveness [11.18.16]

(So. Burlington, VT) Today, Lisa Ventriss, President of Vermont Business Roundtable (Roundtable) joined with fellow leaders across Vermont in pledging to support all Vermonters and welcome people of all backgrounds to the Green Mountain state. In doing so, the Roundtable upholds Vermont’s traditions and reputation as a place of hope and opportunity.

According to Ventriss, “The Board of Directors believe that it is important to clearly articulate, on behalf of the full membership, a commitment to those principles that shape a representative democracy and that embrace all communities as equally deserving of those rights and freedoms.”

The joint statement was also signed by Governor Peter Shumlin, Governor-elect Phil Scott, and the presidents of Vermont’s public and private higher education institutions.


Joint Statement in Support of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusiveness

Vermont has fought for centuries for freedom and unity, equity and openness. Vermont remains a beacon of hope and opportunity, community and shared humanity. Vermont was the first to commit to the abolition of slavery in our state constitution and a leader in the fight for marriage equality. We will continue to support all Vermonters and welcome people of all backgrounds to the Green Mountain state.

We, the undersigned, condemn any acts of unlawful discrimination, violence, and intimidation that target differences in national origin, race, sex, gender, religion, disability, or political viewpoint across our nation. Such acts run counter to the rights and freedoms upon which our country was founded and to the core values of the state of Vermont.

Vermont is committed to fostering welcoming communities and an equitable, diverse, and inclusive society.

Governor Peter Shumlin              Governor-elect Phil Scott

Lisa M. Ventriss, President, Vermont Business Roundtable

T. Gregory Dewey, President, Albany College of Pharmacy

Mariko Silver, President, Bennington College

David Wolk, President, Castleton University

Michelle Ollie, President, Center for Cartoon Studies

Don Laackman, President, Champlain College

Lawrence Jensen, Interim President, College of Saint Joseph

Joyce Judy, President, Community College of Vermont

Robert Kenny, President, Goddard College

Robert Allen, President, Green Mountain College

Elaine Collins, President, Johnson State College

Peter Eden, President, Landmark College

Nolan Atkins, Interim President, Lyndon State College

Kevin Quigley, President, Marlboro College

Laurie Patton, President, Middlebury College

Richard Schneider, President, Norwich University

Donald Steinberg, President, SIT Graduate Institute

David Rees Evans, President, Southern Vermont College

Matthew Derr, President, Sterling College

John Neuhauser, President, Saint Michael’s College

Tom Sullivan, President, University of Vermont

Roger H. Sublett, President, Union Institute and University

Marc B. Mihaly, President and Dean, Vermont Law School

Thomas Greene, President, Vermont College of Fine Arts

Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor, Vermont State Colleges

Pat Moulton, Interim President, Vermont Technical College

Scott Giles, President & CEO, Vermont Student Assistance Corporation

# # #

The Vermont Business Roundtable (VBR) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of chief executive officers of Vermont’s leading private and nonprofit employers, representing geographic diversity and all major sectors of the Vermont economy. The Roundtable is committed to sustaining a sound economy and preserving Vermont’s unique quality of life by studying and making recommendations on statewide public policy issues. Learn more at